Coconut-Lime Tilapia Tacos!

I love tropical flavors. They are so refreshing and perfect for summer dishes. I also love tacos. Coconut is a delicious tropical flavor, and I’ve read about using it as a marinade. I usually drink it, or mix it into my Shakeology (yummy almond joy Shakeology!), but trying it as a marinade for fish seemed doable. With tons of frozen tilapia stocked in the fridge, my fish was chosen, but I always like to add a citrus flavor to my fish as well…and what goes better with coconut than lime?

This dish was super easy, super fun, and super yummy! Check out the recipe below, and let me know what you think!

Ingredients
  • 2 lbs tilapia filets.
  • 1 can full fat coconut milk
  • 2 limes, zested and juiced
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 2 medium-sized garlic cloves, smashed
  • 3 teaspoons ground cumin (add more or less to taste)
  • 4 teaspoons honey
  • sea salt or Himalayan pink salt (to taste)
  • pepper (to taste)
  • coconut oil
  • 12-24 corn tortillas (1-2 per taco)
  • shredded lettuce
  • fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 avocados, sliced
  • 1 lime, cut into at least 6 wedges
Directions
  1. Zest 1-2 limes (depending on size) and combine the lime zest, the juice of 3 limes, the garlic cloves, cumin, honey, salt, and pepper in a bowl (you could also blend this to break the garlic up even more. I used a garlic press…) and stir vigorously with a fork.
  2. Lay tilapia filets in one layer on the bottom of a baking dish, and pour coconut-lime mixture over the  tilapia. Marinade in the refrigerator for at least three hours.
  3. Grease a tin foil lined baking sheet with coconut oil, and transfer tilapia from the marinade to the greased sheet. Bake at 350* for 20 minutes.
  4. To create the tacos: put 1-2 corn tortillas on your plate. Place tilapia in the center, and top with shredded lettuce, cilantro, avocado, and a squeeze of lime juice. Enjoy!

Note: I prefer to flake my tilapia before serving my tacos.

One thought on “Coconut-Lime Tilapia Tacos!

  1. Pingback: Coconut-Lime Tilapia Tacos! | Stephanie Carlsen

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

