I Cheated Today…

Today, I cheated. Not on my workout. I did that. Check out my Sweaty Selfie here:

Not on my eating…it was as clean as I could get it.

Today, I cheated on Beachbody. And I regret it.

I used an old workout DVD that I’ve had for a few years. I couldn’t get Beachbody to stream on my computer today, and I still wanted a short workout without digging around for my Beachbody DVDs.

So I turned to Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, which was in my “donate” pile from Spring Cleaning.

It was fine as far as workout go, but I realized why it didn’t work for me all those years ago

Jillian Michaels’ commentary isn’t for me. When I do a Beachbody workout, Autumn or Tony always comment the right thing at the moment when I feel like giving up (depending on who I’m training with). They keep me going.

Jillian didn’t have that same effect for me.

Don’t get me wrong. The workout was fine. But I was the one who had find the fire to keep going. It wasn’t a hint from my trainer that I could do it. I had to convince myself. In fact, I had to imagine Autumn and Tony coaching me through it.

Jillian’s approach made me feel guilty for choosing her workout and needing to grab a sip of water. She made me feel like a bad person for only having 20 minutes to workout.

Plus, here were no breaks built into the program, and it kinda beat me up.

Fortunately, Autumn and Tony have helped me get into better shape, and I actually nailed a bunch of the workouts that I COULDN’T do when I first tried the 30 Day Shred.

But I’ll be switching back to Beachbody tomorrow: taking my Energy & Endurance and knocking out one of Autumn’s Extreme workouts.

Meanwhile, I’m tossing 30 Day Shred back into the “Donate” pile where it belongs. Hopefully it will work for someone else.

StephanieismsSignature

How was your workout today? Did you get it in?

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

