Day 17: Favorite Childhood Book

Day 17 of the 31 Day Blog Challenge: Favorite Childhood Book

My favorite childhood book is…really hard to choose. I’ve always been a book lover, a bibliophile, if you will. I love books. I love reading. It’s magical, and wonderful. I get to escape to another world and meet new people…ahem, I mean, new characters…sorry…they become real people to me. I cry for them, and cheer for them as if they were real people.

I’ve been like this all my life. I have distinct memories of grabbing a book and my dad’s hand when I was little and needed to…you know…use the toilets for an extended time. I stayed up late reading. I was that kid who would huddle under the covers with a flashlight. I was the girl who got the Harry Potter books and read them in one sitting. I actually did that for most books I bought.

I want the library from Beauty and the Beast in my home…complete with all the books. But I digress.

Choosing a favorite childhood book is hard, so here are just a few (a very select few) of the books I loved to read when I was young. Seriously, though, I’m missing hundreds. And I’m not joking, because there was once a book I wanted from the book store, and my mom told me she would buy it for me after I read 100 books and we were back at the store about a week or two later (I think this was real and not a dream).

Chicka-Chicka Boom Boom

Frank and Ernest

“Written and illustrated by Alexandra Day. Scholastic. $12.95. (Ages 5 to 9) It takes a little while to get the story going, but Frank and Ernest, a bear and an elephant, take over Sally’s Diner for a few days, and the painterly illustrations show how they perform those time-honored diner tasks of serving ”Eve with a lid and moo juice” (apple pie and milk) or learning how to ”paint a bow-wow red” (put ketchup on a hot dog) or make ”a stack with Vermont” (pancakes and maple syrup). There’s an extensive glossary of such terms on the endpapers.” Cite: NY Times

Little Golden Books

Seriously loved ALL of these books! And we had a HUGE collection. That little gold spine still makes me feel like a little kid.

 

Like I said, these are a FEW of the MANY books that were my favorites growing up!

What are your favorite childhood books?

StephanieismsSignature

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

