Job Searching

I am so grateful for my decision to do that Challenge Blog Everyday in September, because right about now it is the only thing keeping me posting.

I am wearing myself into the ground with all the job searching and apartment hunting, and I can feel myself starting to lose motivation. Fortunately, when I start my day, I have my blog prompt, courtesy of Karissa and it’s just enough to keep me going until I find my motivation.

Is anyone else in the midst of job hunting? or apartment searching? Either search is difficult and frustrating, for sure, and combining them is definitely a challenge that I don’t really want to deal with again.

I feel like I’ve spent months searching for jobs, scouring websites and classifieds, but this market is making it difficult. Plus, I don’t really know how to sell my skills for something outside of the field of education, and its almost impossible to get a job in education without certification.

Anyway, today I was feeling really defeated about all of this, and I spent a lot of time thinking and reflecting on it.

Searching for a job has been tough, partially because I feel like companies and schools that might work out for me end up disappointing me with their communication issues. There have been quite a few places where I’ve applied and interviewed, but their communication and presence wasn’t quite in line with what they were saying.

I think that’s one of the more disappointing things. I feel like I haven’t found a place that is the right fit for me.

I don’t know where that place is, or if it even exists.

For now, I think I’m going to take a day or two off, and do a little more soul searching before I jump back into the search.

 

PS If you have suggestions on where to look for a job in the NYC area, I wouldn’t complain about you sharing your suggestions 😉

3 thoughts on “Job Searching

  1. Sorry, I don’t have any suggestions for NYC job searching, but I’m in the same position and also haven’t found the right fit yet. But it’ll all work out in the end!

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

