Day 1: Blog Everyday in September

To learn more about the challenge and see the daily prompts go here: http://afreshstartonabudget.com/2013/08/343.html

Today’s prompt is : Give me your life story in 300 words or less.

I was born in a fairly small town in California on July 18. About 400 days later, I became a sister for the first time. Within the next few years, my mom had two more girls, born a couple years apart. The four of us were pretty close growing up.

When I turned 5, my mom and dad gave me a desk (handmade by my dad) and I was homeschooled at that desk for kindergarten. Beginning in first grade, I started Catholic Education, and I’ve been in Catholic Education ever since. It’s been about 16 years of learning, and 2 years of teaching/tutoring, giving me about 18 years of experience in Catholic schools.

I’ve actually got at least another 2 years in Catholic education because of my graduate program. So by the time I’m done, I’ll have been in Catholic education for 20 straight years.

I moved from California to New York City in August of 2011 for my post-grad volunteer experience, where I worked as a tutor and algebra 1 teacher in an all boys high school. My experience there inspired me to return to school to get my masters and teacher certification in adolescent mathematics for grades 7-12.

So far I love New York, and I’m very happy here, and I’m excited for my classes to start.

And that’s me in a little under 300 words, I hope!

8 thoughts on “Day 1: Blog Everyday in September

  1. I have only been to New York once but I loved it and hope to go back some day! I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts in the challenge this month 🙂

  2. I’ve never been to NY, but am determined to get there before this year ends!! I am glad to meet another person who loves teaching that 7-12 age range, they are so great at that age and it’s fun watching them grow up!

    • You definitely should come visit NYC! It’s amazing, and such a great place to explore. And I agree about the 7-12 age range. They really are great at that age, and I love interacting with them!

    • Home Schooling can be really awesome! My mom actually homeschooled me for Kindergarten, which I’m very grateful for. If I hadn’t been accepted to the catholic elementary school in my town, I would have been homeschooled much longer. I think people who home school are amazing!

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

