A Quick Little Update on the Last Week or So of My Life

Hello, hello, hello!

I was away at a fun program from July 26-August 2, and I’m just now in a spot where I can start to write about it all!

I finished up my two years of Lasallian volunteering a little over a month ago, and coming home and adjusting was a little hard. I don’t think I’ve completely gotten the hang of the fact that I won’t be working in Academic Support next year.

I thought I was doing a pretty good job of adjusting for now, but while travelling last week, I began to wonder if I’d really processed everything. I think I came home and jumped into planning the next stage of my life and didn’t really focus on how I was feeling about it all being over.

See, part of my travels involved visiting my volunteer program’s orientation. It was so much fun to see everyone and be there for anyone who needed a minute to chat. I am so grateful I was there, but at the same time, I was a little nostalgic and wished that I could have really been a part of the whole week.

From the Orientation in Chicago, I travelled further east to Indiana, and spent about 5 days at Notre Dame. I was participating in a certificate program out there for non-profit business development. I actually received a certificate/diploma at the end of all of it, which was really awesome.

During the program, I learned about processing my volunteer experience and figuring out how to explain what I’ve been doing for the past two years (Because, you know, when you come back from Volunteering in Africa, people only know to ask if you saw any animals, and if it was hot, not that I was volunteering in Africa, but…well, that was the example they gave us).

I got a lot of help with fixing up my resume and developing my professional social media presence (click to view my LinkedIn profile or my professional website), and some very important advice on branding and interviewing.

I think the session that left me the most excited, though was the session where we learned about financial planning. I’ve read Suze Orman’s The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous, and Broke, but I was still pretty clueless on personal finance. However, Carl Ackerman (one of the top business professors in the United States) explained some saving tactics that were exceedingly helpful, and I feel like I actually sort of know what I’m doing now. “Sort of” being the key words there.

Anyway, we had a graduation ceremony and everything, and I feel like I met a lot of really amazing people that I want to stay in touch with, so all in all, I’m glad I went!

I’ve got a phone call to make early tomorrow morning, but look for another update from me in a few days!

 

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

