Photo Interpretation

I was going through some old data CDs, and I found a couple of things I wrote back in high school. Since I haven’t been updating my blog lately (I know, a little lame, sorry!) I thought these would be kind of interesting to share. The first assignments that I’m sharing involved interpreting this picture:

ExpositoryWritingPictureThis first one is a first person point of view on the above scene. The second is a 3rd person point of view.

First Person Point of View: In the Eyes of A Delivery Man

C’mon, Annie! You can do it! I silently cheer on the young girl brave enough to take on the neighborhood gang in their signature game.

I sit quietly in my delivery van. Well, actually it belongs to the business I work for: McKesson and Robbins Company, Incorporated. I work as a delivery man for the company’s Brooklyn branch, delivering boxes of who knows what kinds of drugs all over Brooklyn and New York City.

Anyway, I am sitting in my delivery van watching the boys play as this little girl, wearing a little white dress and brown shoes with her mousey brown hair hitting her shoulders, challenges the neighborhood boys. I am in shock. After all, I used to be like those boys when I was younger–one of the tough guys who never went down unless the other guy went further. I had never had a girl challenge my gang and me the way this little girl, Annie, was challenging those boys.

I look, past little Johnny sitting on the mail box, as the boys line up, forming their human wall. I study Annie’s shocked face, yet I can see the fierce determination in her eyes. The boys I hear distantly in the background, calling her over: “rover, red rover, send Annie right over.” To me, it sounds as they are yards away, though they play a few mere feet from where I sit, silently observing the situation as it unfolds. It is as though watching Annie has placed a spell on me–I can only focus on her.

I root for her as she sprints towards the boys, I find myself praying to God–something I have not done in a long time–that she makes it past them. When she does, my mind comes back, and I am applauding her. The boys, shame-faced, look up, surprised that I was watching. I quickly start the van, and drive away. I will congratulate Annie tonight, when I get home from a long day of deliveries. I will go and say hello to her, my baby sister.

Third Person Point of View: Red Rover, Red Rover

The neighborhood boys are out again, playing their fun and carefree games. Today’s special: Rover, Red Rover–the boys’ personal favorite. They play like it’s just another day, fighting over who gets who on what team before they start. What they do not know is that everything is about to change.

Just as they begin, a tiny young girl approaches. Though she seems petite and frail, her challenge is a rough one: “ I bet I can get through.”

“What are you talking about?” Chuck asks.

“Your side. I bet I can break through your human wall.” Her face shows little emotion–only determination. There is a hint of cockiness in her voice–an extra little something to convince the boys to let her try.

Little Johnny, sitting on the mailbox, laughs. Chuck, picking up on her cockiness, decides to let her try–he is clearly the leader of this group of boys.

The boys call her over: “Rover, Red Rover, send Annie right over!”

Annie’s shocked face cannot hide the fierce determination in her eyes. She sprints towards the boys, and using all her strength, she throws herself into their arms, leaping slightly into the air.

This is where things take a turn: instead of being held back, Annie has landed on the other side, clear of the boys arms.

Her beaming face clearly expresses the blissful state she experiences, while the down-trodden faces of the boys show their embarrassment at being beaten by a girl. Someone begins to applaud, and the boys look up suddenly, quick enough to see a McKesson and Robbins Company, Incorporated delivery van pull away from the mailbox.

 

 

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

