Early Sunday Morning Confusion #LifeOfAVolunteer

Last week, one of the brothers I live with took TWO HOURS to DRY his clothes in the dryer. Which I was not expecting, and it almost made me late to meet my friend. So this week, I did the backwards math to figure out when I would need to start my laundry to get it out of the dryer before he would be going to put it in the dryer so I can go meet my friend again. I figured out the starting at about 6 should work. So I got downstairs around 6:40 to switch my laundry over, and the brother from last week had already switched my laundry over, which is fine, except that I had to stop the dryers to go through and pull out things like bras and pantyhose that get destroyed in dryers. Yeah, yeah I know…I should hand wash these anyway, but

Anyway, so by the time everything got straightened up, I got upstairs to check the clock. I like to dry my clothes for a longer time on a lower temp because I think it helps them get less destroyed. So it usually takes about an hour for my laundry to be dry to my liking. I might be wrong about it, but this is how I do my laundry, and it seems to work. This means that my laundry will be dry just before 8am.

When the brother comes back upstairs, I let him know I’ll be down a little before 8 to pull my laundry out, and he gives me a look:

What you talkin’ ’bout Willis?

And asks “what do you have it set on?” I calmly explain my drying method, and he says “Well, I have to leave at 9am. I guess I’ll have to finish my laundry when I get back.” 

In my mind, all I could think was, Brother, even if I weren’t doing laundry right now, if you’re leaving at 9am, there’s no way you’d have time to dry all your clothes based on what your drying time last week. An hour is HALF the time you took to dry those clothes. Really, if I take my clothes out a bit before 8, you should have plenty of time to dry your clothes based on what you’re asking me to do.

Basically, as much as I love the brothers, they exasperate me.

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

