Flashback – Newsies #5

My fifth time seeing Newsies was June 6, 2012. My assistant basketball coach from high school had been visiting NYC, and he had taken his family and I to see Phantom of the Opera.

Of course, I was already solidly a fansie of Newsies the musical (the movie had long ago become one of my passions), and might be one of the only people to walk out of a Phantom show (in this case, a matinee), with “Santa Fe” stuck in their head. Actually, I’m probably one of the only people to walk out of a Phantom show with anything other than Phantom stuck in their head.

It conveniently was a few minutes before the Newsies Lottery opened, and I had just bid farewell to my coach and his family, so I strolled over to the lottery, and got the chance to see Newsies again.

I don’t know if there were any swings on for that performance because I don’t have my Playbill with me right now.

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

