Broadway Flea Market 2012

This past weekend, we had a bunch of meetings in my community to talk about who we are, and what we need to do. It can be a really stressful thing, but fortunately, we were given free time to roam and get out and be on our own.

Conveniently, a bunch of people I really wanted to see were at the Broadway Flea Market during one of our free periods, so I headed down to Times Square early Sunday morning.

In case you’ve never heard of the Broadway Flea Market, it’s basically Broadway Christmas, and the proceeds go to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS (BCEFA). The website says:

Broadway dreams can come true as you find showbiz treasures, meet the stars and bid on once-in-a-lifetime experiences at the 26th Annual Broadway Flea Market & Grand Auction.

Plan now to spend Sunday, September 23, 2012, with Broadway Cares and thousands of other theatre fans in Times Square, Shubert Alley and along West 44th Street searching for one-of-a-kind theatre keepsakes, from lost cast recordings to signed show posters and Playbills, from rare costume sketches to the shirts off Hugh Jackman’s and Ricky Martin’s backs – literally. This not-to-be-missed event for every Broadway theatergoer is free and open to the public.

This was a really fun event and it was awesome to see so many Broadway stars and fans mingling together talking and chatting and having a really good time.

I checked out a couple of tables, but, naturally, I headed over to the Newsies table to spend my money. I got a couple of prop things that I won’t spend too much time talking about right now (I will eventually, don’t you worry). I also got to take a bunch of pictures with the cast…for $5 each. Fortunately, I teamed up with people for most of the shots!

The Newsies were all really sweet. They talked to a bunch of us when they weren’t taking pictures and even remembered our names and when we’re next seeing the show. I got a lot of “See you Fridays!” which only made me smile bigger.

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

