Corey Cott Hits Broadway: August 8, 2012

August 8, 2012. Trust me, people, it’s a day to remember. It’s a day that a very recent Carnegie Mellon graduate made his Broadway début. If you know who I am talking about, I’m proud of you! If you don’t, learn this name:

COREY COTT

Got it? Good. Don’t forget it, because this guy is going to make huge waves on Broadway and in the acting world in general. He’s already started with his heart wrenching rendition of Santa Fé.

Let me tell you about my discovery of this amazing young man. See, the first time I saw him was August 2, 2012 at Newsies Softball. My first interaction with him was that same day, and actually happened before I even saw him.

He was warming up with the rest of the Newsies behind the stands, and he hit a softball…which then hit me in the head (no serious damage done…I grew up playing sports). Of course, he was a gentleman and apologized profusely, but I was on the phone with a friend who was coming to meet me, so I brushed it off like it was no big deal (because, well, it wasn’t).

Anyway, just under a week later, this charming young man made his Broadway début in Newsies, performing as Jack Kelly. His début was the matinée, which I didn’t get to go to (I was a Jersey Boys with another fansie), but I did make it to the evening show that night, when he also performed.

Can I just say that this guy is great? When he was on stage, he wasn’t an actor playing Jack Kelly. He was Jack Kelly, Newsie extraordinaire and blow-hard of the Newsies Union. He sang each song perfectly, and I felt so many emotions as he performed. Basically, Corey takes the things I loved about Christian Bale’s Jack Kelly and the things I loved about Jeremy Jordan’s Jack Kelly and combines them to make Jack Kelly.

In addition to being an amazing actor, this guy is very down to earth and is right there with all the other Newsies at the stage door. He’s such a sweetheart to each of his fans, and you can tell that he is genuinely appreciative of them being there and supporting him.

I’m glad I know who this guy is, and I’m excited to see him in Newsies many more times!

I’m really glad that Corey Cott is Jack Kelly!!!

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

