Trying to be back…

 

Getting back into the swing of the school year is a lot harder than I thought it would be. It’s my second year serving at my school, so I anticipated that things would be a little easier.

And in some ways, things are a little easier, which is nice. I’m more comfortable with the school environment. I’m more confident tutoring the students, despite the subject.

However, in many ways, things aren’t any easier. There are always students in my classroom, which I love, but sometimes I feel like I’m running a question-answering marathon. It’s exhausting to switch back and forth rapidly between subjects. I barely get a breath between answering a trig question and an Algebra 1 question. Fortunately, some students are getting help from my coworker, slowly but surely, and the pressure is slowly being lifted.

The end of the day comes quickly, and I’m always grateful for it. It’s nice to get out of the classroom and walk the streets of New York (which are no longer echoing with the voices of Newsies). Sometimes, I walk to the further train station, enjoying a few extra precious minutes outside before clambering back underground.

The ride home on the train is tough…no one wants to wait an hour before they can get home. One day, I hope I can apparate…but I’m just a Muggle, so it will never happen. I settle in with a book or “Newsies Got Swag” (I’ve just about got the rap down! I have to double-check a couple of lyrics with Bres, but I’m close!).

By the time I get home, I hopefully have a few minutes to sit and do nothing before community prayer and dinner start, and then its time to clean up and get ready for bed.

When night comes, and it’s time to lay down my head, I toss and turn. As grateful for the end of the day as I am, I’m excited to get back to work and to serve my students.

 

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

