June 19-21, in a nutshell, with lotsa pictures!

I know. It’s awful. I slacked off. I didn’t post this on Thursday, and you’re probably reading this late.

I do have an excuse! I was really busy. It was my last days of my volunteer year, and I was trying really hard to live it up,

Tuesday June 19

This was my second to last day of work, and I got out super early…like before noon early. And there was no way I wanted to head straight home. So I walked. A lot. I went over to Broadway and walked from 6th Street to 39th Street, where I went to Lord & Taylor.

Br. Ed had given me a men’s sweater to return to Lord & Taylor, and told me to get something for myself. I spent almost 5 months trying to find the perfect purchase, and I finally found it. A bottle of Versace perfume that had elements of all my favorite perfumes from over the years. It literally smells like all the parts of perfumes that I have ever liked combined together, and it is AMAZING. The perfume came with a white Versace bag, and the sales clerk gave me two full-size samples of Versace lotion, and several handfuls of other perfume samples.

All in all, it was an amazing purchase, and I smile when I smell the perfume.

Wednesday June 20

A darling student gave Kenny and I tickets to go see Cirque du Soleil‘s Zarkana matinee performance for this day.

We were supposed to sit in the front row of the third mezzanine, but when we got there, the usher relocated us to the center of the first row of the second mezzanine. We had a stunning view of the stage, and were able to look down and see all the exciting things happening in the Orchestra level.

Zarkana is an acrobatic rock opera that blends circus arts with the surreal to create a world where physical virtuosity rubs shoulders with the strange.

The story follows Zark, a magician who has lost his powers – and the love of his life – in an abandoned theatre populated by a motley collection of off-the-wall characters and incomparable acrobats. He runs into the Mutants, four sirens as sinister as they are fabulous, who are determined to divert him from his quest.

Zarkana is a visual vortex set in a slightly twisted musical and acrobatic fantasy universe where, little by little, chaos and craziness give way to festivity and love regained.

This show is really well done. The music was amazing, and all the acrobatics were phenomenal. It was a lot to take in at once, though, and for most of the show, I felt overwhelmed and confused. I didn’t understand the storyline, and I didn’t know what they were singing about. I’m glad that I have at least seen a Cirque du Soleil show, though!

Thursday June 21

Thursday means Broadway Show League! I broke out my brand-new awesome Newsies baseball cap to watch Newsies take on Warhorse, and come out victorious. MVP of the game was Mr. Ryan Breslin (aka the birthday boy)! Rumor has it he hit a full cycle, and he was catching everything that was hit his way. I was literally stunned by his playing. Whatever he had for breakfast was really working for him! See the end of the post for pictures!

After the game, I went to hang out with Madeleine, a new friend, and her sister before meeting up with Caroline (a fellow Fansie). We hit up Shake Shack and watched some Malcolm in the Middle.

Then I went out to Times Square to meet up with Caroline. We were going to try for Peter and the Starcatcher tickets via the lottery, and the show had sent us lotsa starstuff…because we won! Caroline’s name was the first one called! It was super exciting, and I couldn’t believe it!

We waited around the theatre until she bought the tickets, and then we walked down 8th Ave until we heard from her grandma and aunt about meeting them for dinner. So like the good Fansies we are, we walked past the Newsies theatre on 41st on our way back up to 47th. Only a fansie could walk from one corner on 47th to another corner on 47th and manage to pass the Nederlander Theatre.

After dinner, we headed to the show. Can I just say that, for me, Peter and the Starcatcher is to plays what Newsies is to musicals. It was fantastic. I loved the way they used basic household items to create these amazing places, and each actor was phenomenal in their roles. I truly felt transported to another time, and I can’t wait to try and lotto again.

I’m going to actually write a real review for this show, so I won’t reveal too much here, but the three “leads” were absolutely amazing, and really bring the magic to life. The show if phenomenal and everyone should go see it!

Pictures

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

