Jillian Michaels is kicking my butt…

So it’s been about eleven days since I started Jillian Michaels‘ 30 Day Shred workout. It’s brutal, and I’m still on level 1. Tragic, right? I also haven’t noticed a change in my body yet, but I wasn’t expecting to see those changes yet, especially since I’m still on the first level.

Fortunately, it is getting easier. I’m able to keep up with the workout without feeling quite as strained. I literally float through the final cardio bit, and die again during the abs circuit at the end. At this point, I’ve decided to move on to level 2 starting this Sunday. Depending on how the first day goes, I might come back to level 1 until I truly master it, but we will see.

I’ve been eating a lot better since I started the workout. I eat smaller portions at dinner, and I only have a sandwich and a piece of fruit for lunch. I also have fruit and cereal (cold or hot) for breakfast with a glass of water.

I thought now would be a good time to evaluate how my goals that I shared earlier were going.

GOALS:

  1. To feel healthier. I’m not sure what this will entail yet, but some days I feel bad, and hopefully moving around a little bit more every day will help me feel better more days out of the week. I do feel better most days, and I’ve found that I have a much easier time falling asleep at night.
  2. To look healthier/happier. Hopefully I’ll be able to trim away a couple of lbs, but really, I just want to have that happy glow that endorphins give you. Not sure how this is going because there are other stressors in my life that are affecting my appearance (slight change in responsibilities at work for the last week)
  3. To keep working out daily after the 30 day Shred is over. Definitely hasn’t changed yet.
  4. Drink more water everyday. I currently drink a little over one 32oz Nalgene BPA free bottle of water everyday. I’d like to be up to two a day at the end of these 30 days. Well, this has changed. I drink a glass of water in the morning, 32oz at work, another 8-16 oz while working out, 3-4 glasses at dinner, and then some more afterwards. Each glass is about 16oz, so this comes to at least 72oz a day, which is perfect! I’m very happy with this!

So in addition to this, Chris and I have decided to try GM’s diet during our first week of summer break. The first link that he found (I think via Pinterest) is here. But a better and more detailed explanation can be found on the official website here. I don’t know how well this will actually go, but it might be interesting. I can’t wait to give it a try! Hopefully by then, Jillian Michaels and I will be friends and I’ll be working out on level 3. (Dreams do come true…IN SANTA FE… Sorry, I can’t resist Newsies references!)

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

