To Stage Door or Not to Stage Door – BroadwaySpotted

I think this is a great article to read. You really get some insight into actor’s lives and to why they do come to the stage door.

Personally, I love it when they do. I try to go to the stage door after every show. Sometimes, I get tons of signatures. Sometimes, like my first time at How to Succeed, I only get two or three (but I DID get Beau Bridges and Taylor Frey so I was an EXTREMELY happy camper).

I don’t mind not getting signatures of big name people. The ones that I really try to get belong to the ensemble for most shows, because I know that without them, the show would not be as amazing as it is. I try really hard to know what their names are (I’m usually flipping to the back of my playbill while I’m waiting for someone to come out so that I can recognize them right away), and I might call out, “Hey, so-and-so, can I get your autograph?”

If they come up to sign, I thank them for doing a great job. Even if a show wasn’t my favorite, you can tell how hard all of the actors work in the show, and they always do a great job. If there was a particular thing that I liked, I try to tell the actor. Giving them more positive reinforcement might just make their day a little brighter, and that’s what matters. They just gave so much to me over the last 2+ hours, a little appreciation is the least I could do.

If they don’t come sign, I shrug it off. They probably need to do some real-people thing like catch the subway or bus, or get home. Or maybe they feel sick, or don’t think they did well. I don’t know, but I’m not going to blame them. They are real people too. I wouldn’t want people to treat me that way, so I won’t treat them that way.

I think Stage Door-ing is an important part of the live theater experience, but getting signatures and pictures is not always vital. Just getting to see the people (even those in the orchestra below the stage) walk out is an exciting thing. For me, these people have exciting lives compared to what I do day in and day out. I perceive it as amazing and glamorous, so I like to catch a glimpse of them out of costume. But I never want them to feel like I’m hounding them. Sometimes, I come on a little too strong at the Stage Door (see: EVERY time at Newsies — my apologies to the cast, I’m so sorry. I will try to be better, but I can’t help it. I really appreciate all of you so much, and I get excited when I see you. I’ll try to tone it down a little next time), and I have to remind myself to back off a little. Really, this only happens at Newsies.

The actors in these shows really are all amazing, and we need to reach out and show them a little respect. They are people just like us. Just with really awesome jobs where they get to pretend to be someone else for 2+ hours a night.

So my final opinion is Stage-Dooring is a do, but you have to be respectful of the actors.

See what BroadwaySpotted had to say: To Stage Door or Not to Stage Door – BroadwaySpotted : BroadwaySpotted.

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

