Da Bronx…

Disclaimer: Today was a housekeeping sort of day. In other words, no real traveling was done.

First, I led morning prayer today.

Introduction

Bible Verse: Romans 8:18-30 (NIV)
I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption to son-ship, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? But if
we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.
In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for Godʼs people in accordance with the will of God.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.

Song:“What Do I Know of Holy” by Addison Road

I made You promises a thousand times
I tried to hear from Heaven
But I talked the whole time

I think I made You too small
I never feared You at all No
If You touched my face would I know You? Looked into my eyes could I behold You?

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

I guess I thought that I had figured You out I knew all the stories and I learned to talk about
How You were mighty to save

Those were only empty words on a page Then I caught a glimpse of who You might be
The slightest hint of You brought me down to my knees

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

What do I know of Holy?
What do I know of wounds that will heal my shame?
And a God who gave life “its” name?
What do I know of Holy?
Of the One who the angels praise?
All creation knows Your name
On earth and heaven above

Prayer Monday, August 8: God in Our Lives

What do I know of this love?

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

What do I know of Holy? What do I know of Holy?

Prayer: The Serenity Prayer
God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.

Then we kind o just hung out while Jenni went to work. Chris and I ran to the Post Office and then to the grocery store to get stuff for dinner.

I made Apricot Chops, which were way better than I expected, and cooked all the way! I was a little nervous cooking pork for the first time. Here’s the recipe for 4 (c/o AllRecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 (1 inch thick) bone-in pork chops
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup apricot jam
  • 1 cup Catalina salad dressing
  • 1 (1 ounce) package dry onion soup mix
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. Heat oil in frying pan over medium-high heat. Season pork chops with salt and pepper; cook 2 to 3 minutes per side until well-browned.
  3. Stir jam, salad dressing, onion soup mix, and garlic together in a bowl until well-blended. Place chops in a 9×13 inch baking pan lined with foil, and cover with apricot mixture.
  4. Bake in preheated oven approximately 40 minutes, until internal temperature has reached 160 degrees F (70 degrees C), or pork is no longer pink in the center.

I added some fresh apricots to the top of this after about 20 minutes in the oven, and I also threw together some asparagus with olive oil, salt, pepper, and more fresh apricots which I baked at the same temperature for about 20 minutes. We had this with some green salad and wild rice, and it was a pretty good, quick and delicious meal!

Leave me with your ingenious insight:

